Uncategorized

my new obsession

it took me 27 years to become a “reader.” not to learn how to read, of course, but to like to. and i am thoroughly addicted. i’ve been pinning books all afternoon that i hope to eventually get my hands on. i mostly like humor and biographies.

i think people’s lives are the best stories.

the awful thing about just looking through the biography/autobiography section is seeing all of the books about children who have been abused or molested… or worse. i hate those. not the stories or the books in particular, but the fact that they exist at all. the very idea of anyone hurting a child in any way makes me physically angry. and i have some very dark opinions about what should immediately happen to those people.

i’m a Christian, but i struggle with the forgiveness part of my faith. the balance of forgiveness and justice i just can’t seem to wrap my head around.

anyway, enough of that. i just had to get that out or i’ll be up all night thinking about it.

i just finished Bossypants by Tina Fey and LOVED it. so awesome. her chapters about parenting made my day. especially the part about holier-than-thou breast feeding. she is the coolest! i think i’ll get Nora Ephron’s I Feel Bad About My Neck next. there’s so many i want right now that who knows what i’ll choose.

C is currently passed out on the couch beside me, Harry Potter is on tv, and it’s kind of chilly in here, but i’m not moving for fear of waking up dumpling. and i really want a jelly doughnut or a cannoli right now. and i can’t have one. so there. that is my day. or night rather.

anyway, good night and happy reading forever. 🙂

p.s. you know what makes me happy? watching C dance to the theme song of elmo’s world. you know what doesn’t make happy? the smell of cooked turkey. a turkey was cooked in my house today and the smell makes me nauseous. it makes M happy and hungry and is keeping me from walking into the kitchen at all. it’s awful.

the end.

Leave a Reply

