Uncategorized

It’s Almost That Time!

Potty training time!
Potty training time!

Currently, I am gearing up for a monumental task: potty training.

I’ve bought several packs of adorable, teeny, tiny underthings. I have a bed-covering off some kind that my mom gave me. We have an Elmo potty and a super weird Elmo Potty-Time dvd. We are almost ready! I still need to pick up some treats, snacks, a poster board with pictures, a timer, and a baby doll and then I’m all set!

I am trying the method that Krysta Moes shared on her blog, These Are The Days. She recommends not using Pull-Ups anymore, but I bought some just in case. It sounds like she knows a lot of people who have had success potty training this way and since I have absolutely no idea how to do this, I’m going to follow her guidelines. I want to make this as easy as possible on Casey and the rest of us. So next week, I’m probably going to be MIA from the blogosphere.

I’m really excited about it though! I hope it goes as smoothly as possible and that her cocker-spaniel attention span will let it all sink in! If you have any tips or advice, please share it with me! This is the first (and probably last) time I’m going to do this. You mamas with more than one child are straight-up troopers! I’m just not that tough! 🙂

I hope everyone is having a great Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “It’s Almost That Time!

  1. I did not have a chance to check out the link you referred to, but will share my quick advice. What finally worked for my daughter (after about a year of being less committed to potty-training) was to put her in underwear and let the accidents happen. The first 2 days we had a lot of accidents and on the third day she got it. During this time, we encouraged going to the potty every hour or so. We tried to maintain a regular schedule, so when we went out of the house, I would put her in underwear with a pull-up over it to limit the mess, but still allow her to feel uncomfortable. I was almost ready to throw in the towel at the end of the 2nd day, but got a pep talk from The Hubs and then it clicked for her on the 3rd day. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

