Uncategorized

Potty Training Snack List

Note: This will not necessarily be the healthiest week of your child’s nutritional life. I don’t even know if that sentence is grammatically correct, but you know what I mean.

IMG_20130317_193902

If you want your child drinking lots of fluids so that you have many, many opportunities to train him or her, you will need to invest in some salty and sweet snacks. I was brain storming what salty/sweet snacks we could feed Casey to get her drinking and realized that most of them start with the letter P. This may make it easier to remember a few of these. Or may make me a prime candidate to be on Sesame Street.

So here goes:

  • Pickles
  • Popcorn
  • Potato Chips
  • Pop-Tarts
  • Pretzels
  • Chex Mix
  • Oreos
  • Cheese Puffs

And of course you will need juice. Juice, juice, and more juice. Hi-C is our favorite, but it’s only available in juice boxes which I hate. Capri Sun, Hawaiian Punch, Mots for Tots, and Sunny D.

Now the entire point of the method I am using to potty train is that you train your child quickly. So they shouldn’t be eating junk ’til the end of time. And you’re suppose to feed them a regular breakfast, lunch, and dinner. (I should add that even though this method is potty-training in a day, I’m planning on an entire week.)

But don’t forget YOUR snacks.

You know, grown-up snacks. {Let’s try to avoid the alcohol until the husband gets home, please. :)}

Some suggestions:

  • Whatever soft drink / tea makes your skirt fly up. Even if you try to “limit” those, for the sake of all things good and pure, have some this week.
  • potato chips YOU like
  • chocolate (Dove, Snickers, whatever)
  • donuts
  • fruits and veggies with some kind of dip

And another tip: freeze some stuff to make for dinner or plan to get take-out for the week. Save yourself some time and frustration.

And if you choose to do the same method for potty training, you are going to need trinkets / rewards of some sort. Just in case you need ideas, here are a few:

  • Those favor bag stuffers you find at Party City (there are bins upon bins of little doo-dads that kids love to get for like 35 cent)
  • Dumb-Dumbs (the suckers. You can get a big bag for $6.50 at Walmart)
  • Little toys and coloring books from the Dollar Tree
  • Other candy or snacks that your child especially loves

I am praying that we will have success with potty training this week and that she will pick up on it quickly! I only have one week off for spring break and then I’ll be relying on my grandmother to help with our training while I’m in class. I’ll let you know if everything works out okay! I know this is a daunting task for most parents (including me).

Hope you are all having a great week!

Leave a Reply

