Movies · still letters

The Lake House

You know what I love about writing like this? It is literally like keeping a journal that someone else can read in the future and transport themselves back in time. You may read this one day years from now on the very same day of whatever year it is and know exactly what I was doing at this moment.

Currently, I am sitting in a recliner in the living room, some idiot is outside shooting enormous, booming fireworks, and you are downloading an obscene amount of games onto my phone which I will end up deleting when you go to sleep. Your dad is in the play room on the computer listening to Volbeat and playing World of Warcraft.

I just finished watching The Lake House featuring Sandra Bullock (with a terrible haircut) and Keanu Reeves. I’ve seen it before, but I didn’t appreciate it the first time. This time, it was perfect. I think I’m in love. It’s not super peppy and upbeat. It’s a really sweet love story sans nakedness and drama. Just what I needed. Also, Ebon Moss-Bachrach plays Keanu’s brother and he is ridiculously good-looking. I don’t know why he isn’t in more movies.

I’ve been feeling really lonely lately. I don’t know if it is because I am used to going full-throttle and things have slowed down or what. Papa is finally finished with chemo so we aren’t having to go to an appointment every other day. I have one class left before I graduate and the two I am taking this summer are super-easy. I finished them a month ahead of time.

I’m ready to start working again and get on with life. I still have so many goals and here lately I find myself in this place where I feel like I’m stuck. I need something new.

As far as people go, I am used to having a lot of interaction. Before, I was in class with a whole ton of people and always had someone to talk to. I’m finishing up these last couple of classes online so I don’t really have that and every single friend I have lives at least an hour away. I have no idea how I manage to do that, but I do. Your dad works and when he’s home, his hobbies are way different from mine. We don’t spend a whole ton of time together. Neither one of us really want to do what the other wants to do. I miss having girl friends that I have something in common with who don’t just want to use me as a babysitter. To be honest, I don’t even have much in common with my friends. None of them read or cook or like to hike and be outside. My relationships are very much opposites attract, which isn’t always bad. But it does leave me a little secluded.

Anyway, in this movie Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves write love letters back and forth but are separated by two different points in time. It’s a great movie, and if you are bored on a Saturday night, I recommend you watch it. It really is beautiful. It made me think about this blog and how I am writing to you from the past in a way. Wherever you are right now, I hope you are happy and not lonely, but if you are, at this point in time, I feel your pain.

Love you forever still.

Leave a Reply

