coffee · favorite things · good things

Iced Coffee: A Love Story

What is the first thing you do when you wake up in the morning? Head for the shower? Slowly crawl across the floor while trying to convince yourself to go to work? Hit snooze 5 times? No judgement here.

The very first thing I do when I wake up in the morning is make coffee. I don’t know how I ever lived without it. I mean, not only are coffee cups some of the most adorable things ever made, coffee keeps my life going. For years I drank hot coffee with an obscene amount of Original Coffeemate powdered creamer and sugar in it, but recently I’ve come up with my own method for making what is, in my mind, the best iced-coffee in the world. It’s simple and it’s terrible for you. I love it.

I’m planning on starting to cold brew, and I want to try out some Torani syrups to see just how splashy I can get with it, but for now my recipe is pretty basic. I brew a pot of Folgers and fill up a couple of ice trays with it. Let those freeze as they are abundantly important to iced-coffee nirvana. I pour the hot brewed coffee into a large plastic cup and stir in about 5 tablespoons of sugar. I know, it sounds ridiculous, but you need the sweet to counteract the melting ice cubes later on. Just trust me. I then leave the kitchen and let the coffee in the cup cool. Before I go to bed, I place the covered cup in the refrigerator until the morning.

Now! Here’s where the iced-coffee magic happens! Fill up a cup all the way to the top with your coffee ice cubes. Next, pour your now cold, sweet coffee all the way to the top, but leave about an inch from the rim of the cup. Now, if you want to be bad, and trust me-you do, pour in half and half. You may want to fill it all the way to the rim, you may just want to turn the coffee light brown. It doesn’t matter. As long as it’s half and half, it will be good. Finally, give it a good stir.

Now, taste it.

Heaven.

IMG_20160724_184952292

So what if it’s 6:57 pm on a Sunday night, and I have to be up at 4 in the morning? This coffee is totally worth it. I would skip dessert for this coffee. Just try it for me, okay? Would I steer you wrong? {Asks the lady with the constant caffeine buzz.}

Goodnight.

 

Leave a Reply

