just letters · Uncategorized

Goodbye

Dear Silly Girl,

Merry Christmas!

You’ve had a great day today. You woke up at around 8:00 this morning, wandered into the kitchen, told me you’d poked yourself in the eye in your sleep, and asked me to go with you to the bathroom.

Then you remembered that you had presents in the living room. 🙂 You are into Barbies this year so that’s mainly what you got. The house, the clothes, the Ken doll.

We had a good day. After you opened your gifts at home, we left and went to Gran and Papa’s for a few hours. We ate and spent time with family like most of America did today.

On the drive home, I felt relieved. I love Christmas, but it’s exhausting. I’m always ready for life to get back to normal and I really love New Year’s. I love the starting over aspect of it.

That leads me to now. You are hopping all over the floor, surrounded by naked Barbies. I don’t know why they always immediately end up naked, but they do.

As I was watching you, I thought about this blog. You’re almost 6 so I know that you’ll be able to remember a lot more now. You’ll have your own memories so I won’t necessarily have to remember everything for you anymore. So, I think it’s time for my time on this blog to end.

I won’t shut it down because I don’t want to lose what I’ve written. That was the point, right? I may start another blog, but it’s focus will be different.

I have this feeling that life is going to change a lot this year. We will just have to wait and see, won’t we?

I love you, sweet girl.

So goodbye, blog. It’s been fun.

Love,

Amy

Leave a Reply

